Mixed Media Monday – Tis the Season

I can’t believe that even with a whole month to create, I didn’t get my piece finished for November 😦   For the “tis the season” challenge I decided to create a little angel to sit on top of my Christmas tree.  I have chosen brightly  coloured decorations for my tree this year so I tried to make the angel to match.  I started with a little plastic doll, which I painted to resemble a vintage bisque doll.(I just noticed that in the photo her cheeks look really uneven – must have been to do with the light.)  I created the underskirt with cardstock and a paper doily that I painted with gold acrylic paint.  The fabric for the dress and bonnet was painted with acrylic paints and I used some foam stamps to create the pattern. The final touches were simply some ribbon, a flower and her perfect little feathery wings.  All in all she stands just over 5 inches or 13 cms tall.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Danni
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 23:37:16

    oooh she’s gorgeous!! Even cuter in real life!!

    Reply

  2. Terri
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 03:31:40

    You little tree angel is very sweet! What a great idea for your tree topper. I love that you used a doll and painted her to look bisque. That is a fab idea!
    Hugs,
    Terri

    Reply

  3. herminesplace
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 06:13:56

    She looks awesome!

    Reply

  4. Willy
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 09:39:33

    Your little angel is GREAT, Diane!

    Reply

  5. Deann (Grannie Annie)
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 13:49:51

    What a darling little angel Diane…it brings back many happy memories…my Grandma used to make beautiful dolls like that…wonderful work she will look fantastic on the to of your tree.

    Reply

  6. johanna
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 13:25:57

    this will be a wonderful tree-top! really awesome!

    Reply

  7. Silvia(Barnie)
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 13:31:19

    A lovely angel, I love the colours.

    Reply

  8. Joanna
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 13:59:31

    Your angel is georgeous Diane!! Hope you have a Merry Christmas!
    xoxo

    Reply

  9. kristin Van Valkenburgh
    Dec 27, 2010 @ 02:05:07

    I didn’t make it last month either! So happy to participate this month and thank you for such a BEAUTIFUL example for inspiration! Your dolls is absolutely gorgeous!
    Happy New Year, Kristin xo

    Reply

  10. gillian
    Dec 27, 2010 @ 19:39:13

    She looks so happy with her colourful attire Diane, love your angel creation, hope you and your family had a wonderful christmas x

    Reply

  11. Faye
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 01:08:01

    Diane, Thanks for visiting my blog and for leaving me the nice comment. You are so talented. This is darling and it looks like it took so much hard work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

